About Us

The Orange County Mineral Society was established in 1953 as a not for profit organization. The objective of the Society is to promote the hobby and to further the interests in the earth sciences.

This is accomplished by the use of educational programs of instruction in the fields of Mineralogy, Paleontology, Geology, The Lapidary Arts, and related fields. In addition, the Society promotes understanding through the use of lectures, field trips, shows, magazine usage, libraries, the internet and other related activities.

The Society maintains membership in the Eastern Federation of Mineralogical and Lapidary Sciences, Inc. which is affiliated with the American Federation of Mineralogical Societies, Inc. This affiliation provides the Society with the necessary insurances and up to date research materials.

Meetings are held on the 2nd Friday of each month at 6:30 pm in the Holy Cross Greek Church, 2250 Goshen Turnpike, Middletown 1094,  In the basement meeting room. If interested in learning more about the Society or becoming a member, please contact Mr. Mike Tedford 845-542-6441.

Overview: The current Orange County Mineral Society has membership ranging from youngsters to senior citizens. All club members are encouraged to participate in all phases of club activities.

The children especially like the field trips, and gain extensive knowledge from attending meetings and participating in the club activities. Each club meeting brings us new knowledge by the education provided by our guest speakers and by hands on experience for both young and old.

Participation includes maintenance of the mineral displays for the County of Orange in the Natural History building in Museum Village, Monroe NY. Members may contribute articles for the monthly newsletter “Shale Mail”, and can cover any aspect of the earth sciences. We share knowledge and have available respected, knowledgeable individuals in our Mineral Group. 

Orange County Mineral Society
254 Rt. 17K, Suite 204, Newburgh, NY 12550-8300


President                               Mike Tedford                

Vice President                       John Dorval                   

2nd Vice President               Alex Kerstanski             

3rd Vice President                Ryan Richardson          

VP Emeritus/Historian          Frank Clyne                  

Treasurer / Facebook           Ron Nelson                  

Min. Show Chairman            Ron Nelson                  

Secretary Backup                  Linda Strohl                 

Secretary                               Mark Kucera                 

Editor                                     John Wheeler               

Webmaster                           Heather Shields